Today’s assignment: write and publish a “who I am and why I’m here” post on your blog.

I’m Jenny. I’m nearly 40 and I’ve been blogging for over 10 years now. With a decade of experience, it might seem silly that I signed up for Blogging 101. But I know I can be a better blogger. I believe we can always improve and grow and change. I would like to blog with more purpose and consistency. I would like to be more intentional with my messaging and personal brand.

Why do I blog? Well, it’s fun! I enjoy writing and I love the community and interconnection that you can find online. In the past, I’ve always blogged simply for the pleasure of it. My focus and attention for my blog have been quite haphazard. I’ve started new blogs and abandoned the old with little regard for the content I generated over the years. All of those words and captured moments are now lost to me, because I didn’t value my own voice.

For the first time, I’m starting to toy with the idea of turning something I enjoy into a revenue stream as well. This is very much a personal blog, but I hope that the Blogging 101 course will also have professional repercussions for me as I continue to explore ways to make social media work for me.

