I love the fashion spreads in Vogue magazine! I would love to also emulate the styles, but I simply can’t afford the designer clothes. A $2,800 Marc Jacobs skirt just isn’t in the budget for me. However, with a little creativity you can get similar results with lower-priced options.

The Challenge: Recreate a look from the pages of Vogue for a fraction of the cost.

The Look: Emporio Armani rabbit-fur coat ($8,145), Marc Jacobs skirt ($2,800), Lanvin belt ($690) and Christian Louboutin boots (price upon request), from the spread Into the Woods (Vogue, September 2015, pages 744-755). Photographer: Mikael Jansson. Fashion Editor: Tabitha Simmons. Model: Raquel Zimmermann.

Vogue September 2015
Vogue September 2015 – Page 746

Admittedly, my look is not an exact replica of the Vogue outfit. I took a few liberties with the color palette, pulling the red into the skirt and switching the black into the jacket. I think my outfit does capture the overall feel of the photo and of the other looks included in the fashion shoot. The long hemline of my skirt is more reminiscent of the floor-skimming Rebecca Taylor skirt on the next page, but I loved the deep red color and didn’t want to go for head-to-toe black. I also probably could have saved a bit more on the boots by choosing a lower-cost option, but Steve Madden is one of my favorite brands and I firmly believe footwear is not the area to skimp (well, at least not too much).

Total Cost for Vogue Look: Upwards of $11,635

Total Cost for My Outfit: $307.73 (excludes tax and shipping)

Savings: Over 97%!

I think this challenge is a win. What do you think? Tell me if you think I came up with a hit or a miss in the comments!

