Today’s featured brand is Cole Haan.

Cole Haan was founded in 1928 by partners Trafton Cole and Eddie Haan. I honestly can’t put the origin story for the brand any better than they do, so I’ll just point you in the right direction to read about a brief description of the company that makes beautiful goods and, “believes a sense of style and a sense of humor are perfect complements.”

Impressed upon at an early age that a woman should never wear cheap shoes, a fair share of my income has always been devoted to finer footwear. It took me a while to stumble upon Cole Haan, but the advice of a friend sent me in the brand’s direction and I’ve never looked back. All of my work shoes in my current rotation are from Cole Haan. I haven’t actually counted, but I must have about nine or ten pairs now. I did not, however, take any photos of my Cole Haan shoes as I did not think anyone wanted to see my used footwear. Cole Haan shoes wear beautifully and last longer than most, but they are still shoes after all, and the little nicks and scuffs of everyday wear eventually take their toll.

Besides, none of my shoes are recent purchases and are no longer available online. Let’s talk about shoes that are currently available for purchase instead. I simply adore this pair of ZerøGrand Stagedoor Ballet in Wine Cabernet Snake. It’s such a great color for Fall!

I’m very fond of the collections that include input from dancers from the New York City Ballet and have bought from them before (I have the Avery en Pointe Ballet in Black Swan Metallic, which sadly is no longer available) . The latest incarnation goes by the name NYCB X ZERØGRAND and the shoes are a bit more casual. Cole Haan ballet flats are ridiculously comfortable and I bet this new line is even more so. Casual enough for weekend errands, but still polished enough for the office, I think I’m going to have to snap up a few pairs.

Of course Cole Haan is more than just shoes – they have beautiful handbags, too! I did take pictures of those, even though again, they aren’t recent purchases and are no longer available via traditional retail means. There might be a few on eBay (but you certainly won’t find any of my Cole Haan bags on eBay because I love them too much to part with any of them). The new Heritage Weave collection is classic and a must-have that honestly, I can’t afford.

Cole Haan products are a bit of an investment. Certainly more affordable than the high-end luxury brands, but more expensive than discount brands. If you’re lucky, you can score a good deal on the Cole Haan Outlet site or take advantage of one of their sales or semi-annual friends and family events. Sign up for their newsletter and deals will show up in your inbox!

Even if you do end up paying full price, I can affirm that you get what you pay for with this brand. All of the Cole Haan products I’ve bought have been exceptionally well-made and durable. I don’t mind paying a bit more if I know I’m going to get several seasons of stylish use out of a pair of shoes and with good care, the bags can last a lifetime.

