Dear Jenny, please help!
 
I am getting my hair highlighted next week and I have absolutely no idea what is in style right now. I am in my late 30s, and I feel like I have lost touch with keeping up with style changes. I am thinking about going for chunky blonde highlights with a dark base and some thin auburn highlights thrown in as well, but is this something that is not considered to be “cool” anymore?
 
What is hot when it comes to highlights these days?
 
Sincerely,
Out of Touch in MD

Dear Out of Touch,

Thank you for your letter! I’m happy to help.

I think you’re on the right track with the darker base and blonde highlights, but chunky is not the way to go if you want to be in line with this season’s trends for hair color. I checked in with a savvy stylist friend and he agreed that softer ombrĂ© looks and hand-painted (also called “balayage“) highlights are the must haves for Fall 2015.

One trend I’m personally loving is the “bronde” phenomenon that finally puts an end to the question of whether blondes or brunettes have more fun – you no longer have to decide because you can have a lovely look that falls somewhere in between! It’s a low-maintenance look that plays up your naturally darker base while still giving you lighter highlights around your face and ends.

That said, if you love chunky highlights then get chunky highlights. Trends come and go. Do what works best for YOU! Get the look that is going to make you feel confident and beautiful both inside and out. No matter what you decide, I can’t wait to see your new look.

Much love,

signature

In need of styling help? Looking for some life advice? Send your questions to jennyexiled@gmail.com!

