Making a business casual wardrobe work for you can be tricky. It’s all too easy to go too casual. It also gives you more flexibility than a more formal dress code. I enjoy being able to mix some of my favorite weekend pieces into my weekday wardrobe to mix it up with my look. Making your clothes work as we leave warm Summer days behind and move into Fall can also be tricky. Cooler temps are the perfect time to layer up and have some fun during this transitional season. Here’s what I wore this week:


Monday: I tend to put off wearing tights for as long as I can. At the beginning of the week I could still get away going bare-legged to work, so I did! I paired Torrid’s Shirred Tulip Midi Dress in charcoal gray with a black and white Print Fringe Kimono. This look hit on two of Fall’s hottest trends: midi-length hemlines and fringe! Why wear just one trend when you can load up with two instead?

Tuesday: This black and white striped tank dress from Old Navy was one of my favorite summer looks. Pairing it with an Old Navy gray cocoon sweater helped me extend the dress’s life into Fall. October is a little late in the season for open-toed shoes, but I just love my pedicure in Mary Kay’s Nail Lacquer in Berry Stylish. It’s a great shade that makes me think of the gorgeous Fall Mums in my own mum’s garden.

Wednesday: By mid-week, the chilly morning temps had me digging out my tights. Plus Size Nylon/Lycra Tights in black from We Love Colors are my go-to hosiery throughout the late Fall and Winter months. We Love Colors tights hold up great even after multiple washings and come in a multitude of hues. I always load up at the start of the season. Tights give me the confidence to wear shorter hemlines and I was feeling a little rock ‘n roll, so I pulled out my favorite faux leather dress from last season. To give the look an update, I paired it with Torrid’s Plaid Reversible Bomber Jacket. The fashion world is mad for plaid this season and this jacket made my outfit right on trend for Fall 2015. This was definitely my favorite look of the week!

Thursday: I decided to mix things up by pairing Old Navy stripes and patterns. This lightweight sweater was great for layering with my favorite denim jacket. The patterned skirt was a bright pop of red, so I kept the rest of my accessories neutral. You can wear fishnets in the office if you stick to a professional color. Nylon/Lycra Plus Size Fishnet Pantyhose from We Love Colors in Light Tan added a little spice to an otherwise modest look.

On Friday, I worked from home. That’s why this is a quartet not a quintet. Working from home means comfy clothes. Maybe I’ll share some of those looks in a future post. If that’s something you would like to see, please let me know in the comments.

What did you wear to work this week?Β I would love to see! ShareΒ links to your favorite looks in the comments.

