I’m obsessed with POPSUGAR’s 2015 Reading Challenge, which for some reason falls under the “Love & Sex” section of the site. Shouldn’t it be under “Entertainment”? Doesn’t matter. Moving on.

I have a spreadsheet devoted to the project with the books sorted two different ways – list order and week completed. Keeping meticulous notes about my progress on Goodreads isn’t enough to feed my obsession, so I’m also going to do a running post of my progress here, too. Because I am that lame. But you love me anyway… Right? RIGHT?!?

I also might need to ask y’all for some book recommendations for some of these categories (“A book set in high school”? – I’m looking at you, Kelly).

I downloaded the printable. Obviously.
I downloaded the printable. Obviously.

I briefly considered trying to do the POPSUGAR list in order, but that’s too OCD even for me. Plus, my various book club obligations don’t neatly line up with the list so I’m allowing myself to check off items at random. I really wish I had teeny-tiny gold stars to place next to each item I complete. Hmm… I should look into those.

  • 4-Jan: Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk (A popular author’s first book)
  • 11-Jan The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot (A book that takes place in your hometown)
  • 18-Jan: Sage of the Swamp Thing: Book One by Alan Moore (A graphic novel)
  • 25-Jan: Hellblazer: Original Sins by Jamie Delano (A book based on or turned into a TV show)
  • 1-Feb: Matched by Ally Condie (A trilogy – book 1 of 3)
  • 8-Feb: Crossed by Ally Condie (A trilogy – book 2 of 3)
  • 15-Feb: Reached by Ally Condie (A trilogy – book 3 of 3)
  • 22-Feb: Ready Player One by Ernest Cline (A book with a number in the title)
  • 1-Mar: My Cousin Rachel by Daphne du Maurier (A book from an author you love that you haven’t read yet)
  • 8-Mar: Around the World With Auntie Mame by Patrick Dennis (A funny book)
  • 15-Mar: Foreign Affairs by Alison Lurie (A Pulitzer Prize-winning book)
  • 22-Mar: Lost Girls by Alan Moore and Melinda Gebbie (A book with a love triangle)
  • 29-Mar: The Call of Cthulhu and Other Weird Stories by H.P. Lovecraft (A book of short stories)
  • 5-Apr: Outer Dark by Cormac McCarthy (A book that scares you)
  • 12-Apr: Confessions: The Paris Mysteries by James Patterson, Maxine Paetro (A book set in a different country)
  • 19-Apr: Spider-Woman, Agent of S.W.O.R.D. by Brian Michael Bendis (A book by an author you’ve never read before)
  • 26-Apr: Lumberjanes, Vol. 1: Beware the Kitten Holy by Noelle Stevenson (A book written by someone under 30)
  • 3-May: Saga, Volume 1 by Brian K. Vaughan (A book a friend recommended)
  • 10-May: Saga, Volume 2 by Brian K. Vaughan (A book you can finish in one day)
  • 17-May: Saga, Volume 3 by Brian K. Vaughan (A book with nonhuman characters)
  • 24-May: Saga, Volume 4 by Brian K. Vaughan (A book with magic)
  • 31-May: Saga, Volume 5 by Brian K. Vaughan (A book published this year)
  • 7-Jun: The Fuse: The Russia Shift by Antony Johnston (A book set in the future)
  • 14-Jun: Ms. Marvel, Vol. 1: No Normal by G. Willow Wilson (A book set in high school)
  • 21-Jun
  • 28-Jun
  • 5-Jul
  • 12-Jul
  • 19-Jul
  • 26-Jul
  • 2-Aug
  • 9-Aug
  • 16-Aug
  • 23-Aug
  • 30-Aug
  • 6-Sep
  • 13-Sep
  • 20-Sep
  • 27-Sep
  • 4-Oct
  • 11-Oct
  • 18-Oct
  • 25-Oct
  • 1-Nov
  • 8-Nov
  • 15-Nov
  • 22-Nov
  • 29-Nov
  • 6-Dec
  • 13-Dec
  • 20-Dec
  • 27-Dec: War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy (A book with more than 500 pages)
