I received a screener link for The Blue Room from IFC Films. La Chambre Bleue (the original French title) was an official selection in the category Un Certain Regard at the 2014 Cannes Film Festival.

La_chambre_bleue_poster

The Blue Room, a French film written, directed and starring Mathieu Amalric, is a twisty puzzle of a film. If you like linear storytelling, this movie is sure to drive you mad as it cuts back and forth between flashbacks and present day to tell the story of two lovers and a police investigation. For me, it just added to the fun as I tried to figure out what was going on. Amalric’s real-life partner Stéphanie Cléau stars opposite him and helped pen the screenplay. The screenplay was adapted from a short novel by Georges Simenon.

It’s clear that Amalric’s Julien is in some sort of trouble with the law, but you’ll have to wait until far into the film to discover of what crime was committed. The story slowly unfolds as Julien is questioned by police, court officials and even a psychiatrist. His interrogations lead to flashbacks that fill in some of the blanks, but certainly not all. I was on the edge of my seat, anxious to find out what had happened – and I’m not embarrassed to admit my first few guesses missed the mark.

Patience eventually pays off as you learn of the crime and even get to watch the trial. But while the jury comes to a verdict, I was left wondering… What really happened? I’ve my own theory, so if you do see the film, please let me know. I’d love to discuss it!

The Blue Room opens at The Charles Theater in Baltimore on October 31, 2014.

