sf universe

How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe by Charles Yu was the May book selection for the Atomic Books book club. But I didn’t finish reading the book until late June, well after the May meeting, and so I did not attend the book club discussion. Which is a shame, because I have really conflicted feelings about this book and I would love to hear what others who have read it think about it.

There are things I love about the book – how time travel is described in different grammatical tenses, for instance. And there are things I don’t love about the book – how it is so fucking meta and self-referential that at one point the protagonist is literally reading and writing the book at the same time. A classic time-travel trope, I suppose, but still kind of fucking annoying.

Am I glad I read the book? Eh… Maybe. Would I recommend it? I’m not sure. I can understand the appeal of this book to a certain subset of readers, but I don’t think it’s a novel that can be universally enjoyed. Or maybe I’m just not geeky/nerdy enough to get it. Who knows? Don’t listen to me. Read it and make your own decision. If you’ve already read it, please chime in with a comment and let me know what you liked and/or didn’t.

