Smoke-and-Mirrors

I read Smoke and Mirrors by Neil Gaiman because a lovely naked girl told me I should. Well, maybe she didn’t tell me to read it – but she certainly inspired my reading. I went to see a show by Naked Girls Reading at the DC Arts Center in November 2013. If you’ve never been, it’s exactly what it sounds like. There are naked girls (well, women). And they read to you. The theme of the night was dedicated to the works of Neil Gaiman. Some I had already read. Some I would soon read.

Smoke and Mirrors is a collection of short stories and poems. Snow, Glass, Apples was the story that grabbed my attention at the Naked Girls Reading DC show. It was the story I was most interested in reading. It was also the last story in the book. I’m not sure why I couldn’t read it first. Perhaps it’s the same reason I keep myself from reading the ending of the book before I’ve begun. I read all the stories in the order published. I’m often a bit outside the lines, but when it comes to books I follow the rules. Perhaps a bit obsessively?

There’s lots of good stuff here. There’s also some just okay stuff. And then there are a few things that left me feeling kind of “meh” about them. I’m not a huge fan of poetry, so many of the poems I could have done without. Snow, Glass, Apples did not disappoint. Changes, Foreign Parts and Tastings were some of my other favorites. Taken as a whole, I liked the book. But I didn’t love it. A solid 3-stars on Goodreads.

