As my son’s summer vacation looms, I’m planning to give him a summer reading list. Minecraft has proven more appealing than the library lately, but dammit. My kid is going to read. Even if I have to force him to do it (I wish I didn’t have to force him to do it).

But it got me thinking – I’ve got several books of my own that I want to tackle this summer for various book clubs and reading challenges. Plus a few more that I just really want to read. Why not compile my own summer reading list? I’m hoping it will help me to have all the books in one handy list. We shall see.

Jenny’s Summer (and a bit beyond) Reading List

  1. How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe – Charles Yu
  2. Assassination Vacation – Sarah Vowell (June 24)
  3. And Then There Were None – Agatha Christie (June 30)
  4. We are Water – Wally Lamb (July 26)
  5. Carsick – John Waters (July 29)
  6. Dead Man’s Folly – Agatha Christie (July 30)
  7. Killing Yourself to Live – Chuck Klosterman (August 26)
  8. Memories of My Melancholy Whores – Gabriel García Márquez (August TBD)
  9. After the Funeral – Agatha Christie (September 2)
  10. The Distance Between Us: A Memoir – Reyna Grande (One Maryland One Book – September TBD)
  11. The Monogram Murders – Sophie Hannah (October 6)
  12. Divergent – Veronica Roth
  13. Insurgent – Veronica Roth (READ, but not reviewed)
  14. Allegiant – Veronica Roth (READ, but not reviewed)
  15. Fight Club – Chuck Palahniuk
  16. Ready Player One – Ernest Cline
  17. A Visit from the Goon Squad – Jennifer Egan
  18. The Book Thief – Markus Zusak
  19. Wild – Cheryl Strayed
  20. Smoke and Mirrors – Neil Gaiman
  21. War and Peace – Leo Tolstoy (I’ve been “reading” this book since 2011.)
