Pop Culture Happy HourNPR‘s Pop Culture Happy Hour is one of my favorite podcasts. I’m multi-media addicted, so of course I love all things pop culture. But I also love the segment at the end of the show where the contributors share what’s making them happy this week. I love it so much that I’m stealing it (with proper accreditation of course)! You’ll see a post about what’s making me happy every Friday. Bearing in mind that I love to make promises about posting and then immediately break them. I’ll try to stick to the Pop Culture Happy Hour rules of sharing things that everyone can enjoy, but since this is my blog, I’ll also share some personal stuff as well.

So here we go! What’s making me happy this week:

I made it through surgery! Granted, most of you didn’t even know I was having surgery. I’m not big on talking about things that I’m super anxious about before they happen. I had minor outpatient surgery on Thursday and everything went great. I spent a lot of time worrying and fretting over it, but in the end it was no big deal. The anesthesia was a little bit freaky. And the outfit left a lot to be desired. But I’m feeling much better today than I expected to, so getting it over with and having an easy recovery are definitely making me happy. Believe it or not, I’m even looking forward to going back to work on Monday!

SuperBetter! I heard about SuperBetter on the TED Radio Hour podcast. [NB: Yes, I listen to a lot of podcasts. I commute 10 hours per week.] SuperBetter turns getting healthy or feeling happy into a game. You complete quests, you activate power-ups and you battle bad guys. It’s awesome! And it’s more fun with friends, so download the iPhone app and send me an ally request.

Movies with friends! Flick Buddies is a lot of fun. Kelly and I got together this afternoon to watch Marnie (review coming on Sunday) as part of July’s Hitchcock theme. Every movie – no matter how horrible – is better when watched with a friend. After our Hitchcock matinée, Kelly talked me into watching Children of the Corn, a movie that has haunted me since childhood. It didn’t hold up well and only my young age when I first saw it can explain why it affected me so. It’s a ridiculous movie, but when you have a friend to laugh about it with, even ridiculous movies are awesome. Thanks, Kelly!

That’s what’s making me happy this week.

Tell me what’s making you happy in the comments! 

