One of my favorite Baltimore traditions is the annual HonFest in Hampden. My son and I have gone the past couple of years, but this year I decided to go all out.

I made an appointment for “big hair” and┬áre-purposed┬ásome items in my closet to put my best Hon foot forward. I think it turned out great!

I especially love my hair. I told Nikki at Signature Salon in Eldersburg, MD that I wanted it to look like I was trying, but I also still wanted to look cute. She did a terrific job.

You can get all the details on my look here.

HonFest 2012

My cohorts for my big hon adventure included my son…

HonFest 2012

And my buddy Mo (who didn’t fully commit to the theme of the event the way the kiddo and I did)!

HonFest 2012

HonFest is a celebration of the Baltimore Hon, of course, but pink flamingos, Lucille Ball and Elvis are all popular motifs.

HonFest 2012

HonFest 2012

HonFest 2012

I’m not sure where the nuns fit in, but we had to get a picture of them, too.

HonFest 2012

I snagged some vintage cat’s eye reading glasses, that I can’t really see through, but I prefer to peek over them anyway.

HonFest 2012

There are other vintage items for sale. Including this very creepy baby doll. That we did not purchase. *shudder*

HonFest 2012

Plus there’s great food like Baltimore-style crabcakes from The Dogwood Restaurant. I tasted tested one myself and can tell you they are damn good!

HonFest 2012

And of course you can get a drink – served by Barcardi girls in huge pink bouffants!

HonFest 2012

All in all, HonFest is a fab time! It’s definitely more fun with friends.

HonFest 2012

And that’s why you should all come with me next year, hon!

