I did not sit through the entire telecast of the 54th Grammy Awards ceremony. I did tune in long enough to see LL Cool J call Taylor Swift his “Around the Way Girl” – which was totally awesome. And then I had to explain to my parents what an “Around the Way Girl” was, which is harder than you might think.

The prayer and tribute to Whitney Houston at the beginning was nice. They kept it respectful without going completely over the top – not something you can always expect out of the music industry. I watched most of the performances either last night or caught up with them today online. Overall, I would say it was a pretty successful show.

Grammy Predictions – How Did I Do?

I’m not a huge music buff (despite my killer Album Club cred), but I didn’t do too bad. I only picked winners in six categories, but I managed to go 4 for 6. My biggest mistake was underestimating the power of Adele.

For the two I missed, I absolutely should have gone with Adele again for Song of the Year, but I had to pay tribute to my hip-hop loving core. For Best Duo, I wasn’t entirely familiar with all the songs, so I just picked my favorite (and ignored the posthumous effect). In hindsight, both choices seem so clear. But what are you going to do?

Record of the Year

My Pick: Rolling in the Deep – Adele
The Winner: Rolling in the Deep – Adele

Album of the Year

My Pick: 21 – Adele
The Winner: 21 – Adele

Song of the Year

My Pick: All of the Lights – Jeff Bhasker, Stacy Ferguson, Malik Jones, Warren Trotter & Kanye West, songwriters (Kanye West, Rihanna, Kid Cudi & Fergie)
The Winner: Rolling in The Deep – Adele Adkins & Paul Epworth, songwriters (Adele)

Best New Artist

My Pick: Bon Iver
The Winner: Bon Iver

Best Pop Solo Performance

My Pick: Someone Like You – Adele (Track from: 21)
The Winner: Someone Like You – Adele (Track from: 21)

Best Pop Duo/Group Performance

My Pick: Pumped Up Kicks – Foster The People (Track from: Torches)
The Winner: Body And Soul – Tony Bennett & Amy Winehouse (Track from: Duets II)

Grammy Performances

  • Adele was Adele. She always brings it.
  • I am not a huge Bruno Mars fan (mentioned numerous times in the previously-linked post), but his set was hot. He pulled off that big band Motown swagger and I liked it.
  • I like Coldplay. I love Rhianna. But damn. That was not so great.
  • What the hell, Nicki Minaj? I love you, but I don’t even know what the eff that was. When Lady Gaga starts making more sense, you’ve got a problem.
  • I know a lot of people thought the Whitney Houston cover by Jennifer Hudson was too soon, but I think it was great. Hudson did a nice job and she didn’t try to sound just like Whitney. It was a tribute, not an impersonation. She kept it classy and I think most people recognize and appreciate that.
  • The Beach Boys, Bruce Springsteen and Paul McCartney are getting old.
  • Chris Brown. I don’t know exactly how I feel about this. I do think people can change. And that’s coming from someone who knows more than she ever wanted to know about domestic violence. So if Rhianna can forgive him, that’s enough for me. But this made me sick. So… yeah.
