I’ve tried being a bit more music minded lately, so for the first time ever, I’m actually going to pay attention to the Grammy Awards.

It helps that LL Cool J is the host for the 54th Grammys. I like him lots.

There are an unbelievable 78 categories. It was a struggle for me to pretend I knew which winners to pick for the first six categories. I’m not even going to attempt to discern what’s going on in the Alternative or Gospel or Contemporary Christian genres. You can find a full list of nominees and categories here.

Record of the Year

Rolling in the Deep – Adele
Holocene – Bon Iver
Grenade – Bruno Mars
The Cave – Mumford & Sons
Firework – Katy Perry

Well, here’s our first hurdle in my lack of musical knowledge. What’s the difference between a record and an album? It seems like the record is the single. Okay then. Bruno Mars annoys me. I don’t know who Mumford & Sons are. Katy Perry is over exposed (both literally and figuratively). I do love Bon Iver, but I’m going to have to go with Adele.

Album of the Year

21 – Adele
Wasting Light – Foo Fighters
Born this Way – Lady Gaga
Doo-Wops & Hooligans – Bruno Mars
Loud – Rihanna

This lady rocks my world. Lady Gaga, not so much. I like the Foo Fighters, but I’m not aware of even a single off of this album. Loud has nothing on Good Girl Gone Bad. And Bruno Mars annoys me, remember?

Song of the Year

All of the Lights – Jeff Bhasker, Stacy Ferguson, Malik Jones, Warren Trotter & Kanye West, songwriters (Kanye West, Rihanna, Kid Cudi & Fergie)
The Cave – Ted Dwane, Ben Lovett, Marcus Mumford & Country Winston, songwriters (Mumford & Sons)
Grenade – Brody Brown, Claude Kelly, Philip Lawrence, Ari Levine, Bruno Mars & Andrew Wyatt, songwriters (Bruno Mars)
Holocene – Justin Vernon, songwriter (Bon Iver)
Rolling in The Deep – Adele Adkins & Paul Epworth, songwriters (Adele)

This would be another source of my record/album/song confusion, but this is for the songwriter, not the artist. Y’all probably already knew that. Heh. I don’t think All of the Lights will really win, but that’s my jam.

Best New Artist

The Band Perry
Bon Iver
J. Cole
Nicki Minaj
Skrillex

Okay, I love me some Nicki. But Bon Iver is amazing on an entire other level. The Band Perry will probably give them a run for their money, but c’mon. That’s what the CMAs are for. I have no idea who J. Cole or Skrillex are. My bad.

Best Pop Solo Performance

Someone Like You – Adele (Track from: 21)
Yoü And I – Lady Gaga (Track from: Born This Way)
Grenade – Bruno Mars (Track from: Doo-Wops & Hooligans)
Firework – Katy Perry
F***in’ Perfect – Pink

I think you know by now that I adore Adele and don’t care so much for Lady Gaga, Bruno Mars and Katy Perry. I like this Pink song, but it doesn’t have the power of Someone Like You.

Best Pop Duo/Group Performance

Body And Soul – Tony Bennett & Amy Winehouse (Track from: Duets II)
Dearest – The Black Keys (Track from: Rave On Buddy Holly)
Paradise – Coldplay
Pumped Up Kicks – Foster The People (Track from: Torches)
Moves Like Jagger – Maroon 5 & Christina Aguilera (Track from: Hands All Over)

I love this song. That’s my only justification. The end.

