For those of you who have known me a while, I never do anything once when I can go overboard and do it twice. So when I signed up for Birchbox, I signed up with MyGlam, too. No, I probably don’t need to subscribe to either of these services, but so far I kind of love them both. I’m certainly not ready to cancel either one yet!

Here we go – it’s the Glam Bag packaging! Woo!

IMG-20120123-00761

Rather than a box, you get a cute little make-up bag. Nice!

IMG-20120123-00762

There was a short note from MyGlam founder and my new bestie, Michelle Phan!

IMG-20120123-00764

And of course, what we’re really all here for, the products!

IMG-20120123-00763

My January Glam Bag included:

  • Sheer Cover Duo Concealer: My skin totally cooperated and cooked up a horrible blemish for me to try out this product. I usually use a powder concealer, but this cream concealer had a nice texture to it. I applied it with a concealer brush and it gave good coverage. I liked that the concealer came with two tones for custom blending. I’ll admit that I went back over my problem areas with my usual powder concealer at the end. But I’ll definitely use this when I opt for tinted moisturizer over my usual powder routine.
  • Wen Sweet Almond Mint Cleansing Conditioner: This is an odd product. I’m a diehard Head and Shoulders user due to dandruff (ugh!), so I don’t often mess around with new shampoos. But I did give this a try. Read my full review (with photos!) later in this post.
  • Freeman Cucumber Facial Peel-Off Masque: Masks are the step in my beauty routine that I’m mostly likely to skip, but this was fairly simple and I was pleased with the results (see below). I’ll try this again. And it was nice getting the full-size of this product!
  • theBalm Cosmetics Hot Ticket Nail Polish: I love theBalm, but have never tried their nail polish before. I was impressed with the color and quality. Check out my photos below!

IMG-20120125-00770

We all know I can’t really paint my nails, so disregard the technique and focus on the glam color, okay? The polish gave great coverage and went on nice and smooth. I like it!

IMG-20120125-00769

Here I am with Freeman’s Cucumber Facial Peel-Off Masque all over my face. Sexy!

IMG-20120125-00776

Next time, I’ll apply a lighter layer. And I will try not to get so much goop in my eyebrows and hair. The masque has a nice tingling feel as it’s drying. But you really do have to give it a good tug to get it off…

IMG-20120125-00778

Um… That’s gross.

IMG-20120125-00779

Horrible camera quality (and my bathroom mirror really, really needs to be cleaned and no, I did not pick out that wallpaper), but I do think my skin looks soft and kind of glowy after the masque was removed. My pores seemed clean and tight afterward, too.

IMG-20120125-00782

Cropped BeforeAs I mentioned above, I’m pretty tied to my regular shampoo due to my problem scalp. You can see a “before” picture to the left. Wen Sweet Almond Mint Cleansing Conditioner is supposed to take the place of both your shampoo and conditioner. It doesn’t really lather up, but you massage it in and then rinse it out. The package said you could also use a small amount as a leave-in conditioner. I’m often scared of using too much product and getting left with greasy hair, so I worked the teensiest, tiniest dab through my wet hair.

Cropped After I’m prone to frizz and Wen definitely helped with that. I also think my hair is softer and shinier. It definitely, definitely made it easier to comb through my wet hair and I guess that’s a good thing. And I love the smell of almond and mint, so the scent was a big hit with me. You can see my “after” picture to the right. Again, I’m taking crappy self-portraits in bathroom mirrors, so you can’t really tell what my hair looks like. You’ll just have to take my word for it that I saw improvement!

Once again, $10 brought me a lot of joy. Can’t wait to see what MyGlam sends me in February!

