Day 11 – A book that disappointed you

Oh, look. It’s the meme from ages ago that I never finished.

To talk about the book that disappointed me, we must first talk a little bit about a book I loved: The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman. I fell in love with Lyra Belacqua and was enchanted with the idea of daemons, a physical manifestation of our deepest inner thoughts. I eagerly sought out the second book in the trilogy.

I didn’t care for The Subtle Knife as much, but it was still a good read. Will was a nice addition to the story, even though the worlds he and Lara find themselves in our stranger, and at the same time more normal, than the world of The Golden Compass. The story didn’t hold the same power for me. But I often find the middle installment of a trilogy is the weakest, as it often serves as simply a means to get from the first book to the third. I had high hopes for the last book in the His Dark Materials series.

And I was disappointed.

There are many things to like about The Amber Spyglass. But the heavy-handed religious symbolism was too much for me. By the end I find the entire thing completely unbelievable. Not because of the magical realms the characters found themselves in, but because of the development of the characters themselves. Lara goes from a bright, inquisitive child to a moody, lovesick young woman. It didn’t feel right to me. It didn’t ring true.

I liked this book, but I didn’t love it. And I had so expected to love it that merely liking it just wasn’t enough.

