I saw this on KellyVision! If you want to play along, leave a comment on this post. I will email you five interview questions.  Answer those questions in a post on your blog, and allow your readers to leave a comment if they want you to send them five interview questions of their own.

(As I’m sure you’ve already figured out, the title of this post has little to nothing to do with the contents.)

Here are Kelly’s questions for me:

1)  If you could make everyone in the world read one book/watch one movie/TV show, what would it be? 

Wow. This is tough. My initial instinct was to force everyone to watch my favorite film Secretary. But it’s hardly age appropriate for EVERYONE in the world and it would likely offend many, many people. While I think it’s good to push people out of their comfort zones, I would never force my grandma to watch it. I honestly can’t think of something everyone needs to see. Maybe I’m just not comfortable imposing my opinion on others. There are lots of things I love and lots of things I hate, but I kind of like knowing there are things I love that other people can’t stand. And if there weren’t people going nuts over stuff I just don’t get, what would I have to complain about? 😉

2)  What’s the best book you read this year?

This is a tough one because I read so many good books this year. I don’t think I can narrow it down to just one, so I’m going to cheat a little bit. I’m going to select my favorite book I read for the first time in 2011 and my favorite book I reread again in 2011. Click the links to read my reviews on Goodreads!

First Time: Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier

Old Favorite: The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

3)  Favorite Christmas tradition?

I often complain about it, but my favorite tradition is the holiday crafting hell I embroil myself in every year with my son. Most recently, we tried (and failed?) to decorate some gingerbread men. We’ve made ornaments, graham cracker Nativity scenes, Our projects never come out quite like the pictures on the boxes or even as we imagined they might, but we laugh and have fun together. And that’s what really matters!

4)  Least favorite Christmas song?

OMG, thank you for this question, Kelly! Because there is one Christmas song that I loathe and this gives me the perfect excuse to rant on about it for a bit without people looking at me nutty (which has already happened once this holiday season after the song was featured on Glee).

Band Aid, a “charity supergroup” according to Wikipedia, put out a single in 1984 to raise money for Ethiopia. Really nice idea. Really horrible lyrics.

You can read the full lyrics here, but let’s take a look at some of my personal “favorite” bits of Do They Know it’s Christmas:

But say a prayer
Pray for the other ones
At Christmas time, it’s hard
But when you’re having fun

The “other ones”? Seriously? We couldn’t have struck a more inclusive tone here?

And the Christmas bells that ring there
Are the clanging chimes of doom
Well, tonight, thank God, it’s them
Instead of you

Are you freaking kidding me? Why not suggest we pray to God to help people less fortunate? Or even just thank God for the blessings we have. No, instead this reads as if we’re supposed to be smug jerks about how well off we are, with the added bonus of thanking God for smiting others.

And there won’t be snow in Africa this Christmas time
The greatest gift they’ll get this year is life
Where nothing ever grows, no rain or rivers flow
Do they know it’s Christmas time at all?

This is the verse that sends me over the top. First, not every region gets snow at Christmas. That’s a Northern Hemisphere, Eurocentric view in my opinion. Second, I think we could all argue that “life” is the greatest gift any of us received, every year. And finally, a good third of the Ethiopian population is Muslim! So maybe they know it’s Christmas, but they’re not celebrating because it’s not part of their religion.

Feed the world
Let them know it’s Christmas time

I’m all for feeding the world, but do we have to proselytize, too?!?!

5)  If you could erase one bit of pop culture from the world, what would it be?

I would like to erase the song above. Not the money that was raised and (hopefully) went to poverty-stricken Ethiopians. Just the song in the near-constant holiday rotation! And now Glee had to go and do a cover of it, so I’m sure I’ll be stuck hearing it even more often than usual. Thanks, Glee!

(And of COURSE I have the damn song stuck in my head now! ARGH!)

