I went to Wal-Mart today. While I was looking at stickers in the stationary aisle, a guy came up to me. He said that he just wanted to tell me he thought I was beautiful. I blushed and said thank you. We chatted a bit more. He asked if I was single. I ended up giving him my phone number.

Since nothing happens to me until I share it with the internet, I tweeted about it.

Moments later, I got a DM from my married ex-boyfriend expressing concern that I’m going to end up hurt by giving out my number to guys I meet in Wal-Mart. Now… One could posit that the absolute best way to get hurt is to date a married guy. But let’s disregard that for the moment.

What have I done that’s put me so squarely in harm’s way?

I didn’t give him my address or social security number or bank account information. I gave him my phone number. If he chooses to use it, and we ultimately decide to go out sometime, I’ll do the right thing and meet him in a public place with my own transportation. The same way I would with any new guy I meet. Why does it matter how we met? Is it safer to meet someone on the internet? Or in a bar? Not really.

So… I met a guy in Wal-Mart. I’ll let you know how it goes.

