Day 10 – A book you thought you wouldn’t like but ended up loving

This is a tough one. Mostly because I don’t make a habit of picking up books that I think I won’t like. There are so many books that I want to read that I think I will like, that I rarely even bother to read something I don’t think I’ll like. Sometimes I’ll read something for a book club that I don’t think I’ll like, and nine times out of 10, I’m right about that.

I started typing this entry with no clue which book I would ultimately write about, but it just came to me!

Chosen by a Horse: a memoir by Susan Richards

This book was the September 2010 selection for the book club at my local library. I never would have selected to read this book on my own and I certainly didn’t think I would enjoy it. First, unless it’s a travel memoir that takes place in exotic locales, I’m not big on memoirs. They tend to be a bit whiny and self-indulgent. You know, kind of like my blog. I’m quite whiny and self-indulgent on my own! I don’t need to read about anyone else. Second, it’s about a horse. Despite having a horse as a child (no really) and having spent a fair bit of time in the (Western) saddle, I was never one of those horse-crazy girls. I did not collect horse figurines, and while I read and enjoyed Black Beauty as a kid, I didn’t ready any of the other horsey lit books – Misty of Chincoteague, I’m looking at you.

But I really liked this book. A lot. A surprising amount. While some members of my book club found it depressing – that a woman could found herself divorced and alone in middle age – I found it rather inspiring and hopeful. She dips her toe into the world of dating with lackluster results, but keeps her sense of humor. She loves and cares for a horse that dies, but she is able to hold on to the memories of the good times they shared together.

Richards becomes more comfortable in her own skin over the course of the novel. She comes to peace with both her present and her past. It left me hopeful that her future – and my own – would be filled with good things.

It’s been a while since I’ve posted a 30 Days of Books entry (or much of anything, really) but I’m going to try to pick it up and carry on. Until tomorrow!

