Day 08 – A book everyone should read at least once

Hmm… This is another tough one. Because I don’t like telling people what to read or what they should like. I’m just happy to know people are reading – it almost doesn’t matter to me what they choose to read. Who am I to say you must read this or that?

That said, there’s a book that everyone can enjoy (regardless of reading level) and its message is one that should be taken to heart.

Horton Hears a Who! by Dr. Seuss

A person’s a person, no matter how small. 

To me, this book teaches the value of community and respect for other people. It teaches that one person can make a difference. Or be the tipping point. It’s a lesson that everyone needs to learn (and relearn), be they young or old.

I learned some interesting things about this book when I looked up its Wikipedia entry as prep for writing this post. [Yes, dear reader, believe it or not, I actually often do research for these posts. Unbelievable, I know.] Some things I was pleased to learn – such as Dr. Seuss seeing this book as an allegory for the American occupation in Post-WWII Japan. Other things kind of pissed me off – like the pro-life movement’s co-opting of the novel’s recurring phrase, against the wishes of both the author and his widow.

Moving on – 30 Days of Books continues tomorrow! Maybe. I mean, it is Thursday after all. So we’ll see.

