Day 04 – Your favorite book or series ever.

Ooo, toughie! There are many books I love, but it’s hard for me to pinpoint my favorite book ever. A couple that come to mind, I know I’ll be using later in this meme, so for now, I’ll choose Milan Kundera’s The Unbearable Lightness of Being.

I first read this book for a book club when I was in my early 20’s. For the life of me, I cannot remember which book club it was. I’ve a bad habit of joining book clubs and then losing interest or dropping out due to lack of time shortly thereafter. I liked the book quite a lot, but it didn’t get catapulted up into the upper echelon of my favorite books until my second reading.

I’m not sure what inspired me to pluck it off my shelf one day. Perhaps I just had nothing to read. I know I didn’t expect the book to move me as much as it did. But reading this book again, in my 30’s, after my marriage had come to a messy end was a revelation. It meant so much more to me the second time around, as I had now had my own struggles with love and loss and life just not working out the way you imagined. My own thoughts on the meaning (or lack of meaning) of life and death were much more in tune with Kundera’s the second time around as well. With my second reading, I grasped the more philosophical nature of the work, rather than just focusing on the actions of the characters.

I find the book heart-breaking and sensual. At times whimsical and inspiring. And after writing this post, I think I need to read it again.

You might have noticed that my 30 Days of Books are quickly turning into 30 Business Days of Books, Give or Take as Jenny Likes to Skip Thursdays and Fridays. No one said it had to be 30 consecutive days, did they?

