My blog (in all its various incarnations) has always been of the overly self-indulgent, navel-gazing variety. Hold onto your hats, dear readers, because it is about it get infinitely worse! Huzzah! What’s prompted this blistering bout of banality?

My birthday, of course.

Later this month, I will turn 35. I’m fairly certain that means my life is about half over. I’m not exactly the healthiest sort and the thought of sticking around well into my seventies and eighties just makes me tired. I also have a ghastly fear of outliving my (meager) 401(k) savings and being forced to subsist on cat food while steadily slipping into dementia. Despite having a slew of hardy, healthy, living grandparents (which believe me, I am so thankful for them!), I seem to take a very dim view of my own old age. I’m not sure what that’s about. Hmm…

So as I enter middle-age (for me), I feel the need to ramble on and on about where I’ve been and where I’m going. The ultimate goal is to alleviate myself of any residual angst from my change of circumstances in 2008-2009 and move forward unburdened and hopeful. I’m planning to do that during the month of March with a post-a-day. Feel free to read them or just glaze over and come back next month when I’ve got this particular personality quirk worked out. Your choice!

Photo 12

PHOTO ABOVE: Working out my inner demons…

