After much debate over whether we should attempt the 40-minute drive to Frederick, my son and I headed off for the most recent version of First Saturday – Fire in Ice.

Weather and holiday obligations had kept us away since this past October, but I’m so glad we didn’t let the rain and fog scare us off this time. I’ll admit I got a little nervous as we drove through a bit of a downpour on our way up, but once we got there the night was cold, but clear.

I was in the mood for Mexican and La Paz just happened to be hosting an interactive ice playground on their patio. It was the perfect diversion for my son while we waited for a table.

2011.02.05

Here you can see the kiddo putting the shuffleboard table to good use.

2011.02.05

There was also a (difficult to photograph) clown bean-bag toss and a bear chair – all made of ice!

2011.02.05

Since I knew we would be in town for a while, walking around and visiting shops, I decided to treat myself to a cocktail. La Paz’s Ruby Red Flip-Flop was fantastic! The drink doesn’t seem to be on their online menu, but I know it had vodka, grapefruit juice and grenadine. Add a lime and a sugared rim and you have one happy Jenny.

2011.02.05

The food was reasonably priced and absolutely delicious. I got the night’s special – a chicken and veggie burrito smothered in sauce and cheese. I’m not sure how diet friendly it was, but it tasted great.

2011.02.05

After dinner we went out to hit the shops and take in the many ice sculptures. The sculptures were sponsored by the local downtown businesses and usually tied into their sponsors in neat and interesting ways. Here’s a penny in front of the coin shop…

2011.02.05

A vase (with real flowers) in front of the flower shop…

2011.02.05

And a penguin! I’m not sure how the penguin ties in, but we thought it was cute.

2011.02.05

We had a great time. As always, if you’re in the Baltimore-area, I can’t recommend enough that you take a short road trip to Frederick! It’s well worth it!

2011.02.05

