My old Vox blog was largely devoted to my dating misadventures.

[Sidebar: One day soon, I will stop referring back to my “old Vox blog,” especially since I didn’t import any of those posts to WordPress. I promise. In fact, this might be the very last post tagged “Vox”. We shall see!]

I haven’t talked much about dating on this blog yet and the reason is probably painfully obvious: Not as many privacy features. I’m no shrinking violet and I’ve gone out of my way to ensure that I can be found on the web. A simple Google search by a prospective date could turn up all sorts of interesting tidbits about yours truly. [Go ahead – give it a try!] I certainly don’t need to go intentionally adding to it.

With that lengthy preamble, let’s get to the point of this post.

Since my divorce, I have used online dating websites to meet new people. I was going to give actual numbers here, but those numbers scared me, so let’s get vague, shall we? I’ve met quite a few people. Some of those dates have gone very well and led to more dates and fun. Some of those dates have been complete and total disasters.

Honesty always helps. When it comes to online dating, I’m a big believer in “truth in advertising”. I don’t pretend to be someone I’m not and I post hyper-recent photos. With me, there are no surprises. What you see, is what you get. So the vast majority of the time, a guy who finds me attractive online will also find me attractive in person.

But.

It has happened (once) that I met a guy who was not attracted to me in person. So it’s possible. It has happened. It could happen again! [I was not attracted to him either, because he had posted out-dated photos of himself, but that’s a different story entirely.]

I don’t really get super nervous about first dates, but there’s still that element of the unknown when meeting someone from the Internet in person for the first time. Will he like me? Will I like him? Will there be chemistry?

Chemistry is a very hard thing to gauge without a little face-to-face.

I have a date tomorrow night. I am excited about said date. I am nervous that said date will not be part of the 98% of men I have met through online means who also found me attractive in real life. I really don’t want him to be part of the dreaded 2%.

So cross your fingers for me. And I will, of course, keep you posted!

